The other day I had an idea to learn x86 assembler. Since I am never a fan of easy projects I decided for my first program I would try to rewrite the legacy OpenGL tutorials by NeHe. It is important to remember that these tutorials are based on very old versions of OpenGL and should not really be followed unless developing for ancient architecture. After I have rewritten NeHe’s tutorials at least up to 5 I plan to then try to change over to OpenGL 3.2 and higher. I will still stay in NASM assembler so I will have to have a few tricks up my sleeve as I can find no assembler references for newer versions of OpenGL. The new versions of OpenGL require some really extravagant techniques in order to display a simple window and most people now use a library to do all of this back end. I may have a look at the back end and see if it can be simplified in NASM but I think it will be quite likely that I will just use a library as well.

There is actually solutions to NeHe’s tutorials in assembler but it is FASM and it was made in 2000 so there is a possibility for improvements. These tutorials will hopefully give me a better understanding of x86 and how OpenGL operates. I was going to use the FASM code whenever I was unsure on how to proceed but found that it had few comments making it hard to read and follow. My attempt will hopefully have meaningful comments and will not use @@1 as a label for any loop! Another tool at my disposal is reading the assembler generated by the original c++ code.

One issue I encountered early on was alignment can cause many problems. For a long time I had a MessageBox that would display with the words in italics and rotated. It took a very long time to realise this was an alignment issue in the RAM due to me thinking that this bool I was using only required at max 1 bit so I placed it in a byte. After changing the bool to waste a dword all the MessageBox issues disappeared.

Another issue that I keep forgetting is whether something is a pointer or needs to be dereferenced. Whilst working through tutorial 2 I encountered many issues related with my box and triangle not being able to be drawn. I later realised the problem with this was not dereferencing a pointer!

I tried to use all open source programs whilst developing the tutorials some of them are very out of date nowadays such as ALINK. My reasoning for continuing to use ALINK was mainly due to being able to run it without installing anything.  I would normally have used microsofts link.exe but I would need visual studio or the windows SDK.

All code can be found on github.

